My Cart


Coteau Books

Coteau Books is a Saskatchewan cooperative that 2015 celebrates 40 years of publishing the best of Canadian fiction, non-fiction, drama, poetry, children’s and YA books. 

Coteau was incorporated in June 1975 in Moose Jaw by four writers with Moose Jaw roots to ensure our province had a voice on the national literary scene. Since then, it has expanded to be a registered not-for-profit publishing cooperative governed by a nine-member Board of Directors – some of whom have been with the press since it began – publishing a dozen titles each year and based in Regina.

Our mandate today is to publish and present to the world market Canadian literary writing, with an emphasis on Saskatchewan and prairie writers; to foster new writers as well as established ones, and to publish children’s books that are of excellent quality and that further understanding among peoples and communities.

Our list of published books contains many first-time authors as well as well-known names. Coteau titles have won the national Governor-General’s Literary Awards in 1995, 2002 and 2010 (and have been finalists no fewer than seven times in fiction, poetry, drama and children’s literature – one of few publishers who can claim nominations in so many genres). Coteau Books is proud to be a Prairie publisher, bringing our authors to the national (and international) readership they deserve!

  • Sort by